The University of Arizona

RII Staff Directory

Research, Innovation and Impact
Name Title Email Phone

Elizabeth R. Cantwell, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President for Research and Innovation
ecantwell@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3513

John O'Neil

Chief of Staff / Officer, Security/Defense Facilities
oneilj@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3513

Sangita Pawar

Vice President of Operations

Neal R. Armstrong, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Research
nra@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3513

R. Brooks Jeffery

Associate Vice President, Arts, Culture & Society
rbjeffer@email.arizona.edu 520-621-2991

Christina Mena

Executive Associate to Kimberly L. Ogden, Interim VP for Research
ccalder1@email.arizona.edu 520.626.0631

John Mester

Associate Vice President, Research Development
jmester@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3513

Claudia Nelson

Director, Native Peoples Technical Assistance Office
cen@email.arizona.edu 520.626.9181

Paula Nielsen

Executive Assistant
pnielsen322@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3513

Leslie Porter

Organizational Consultant
ldm@email.arizona.edu

Adriana Sanchez

Administrative Associate
rasanchez@email.arizona.edu 520-621-1103

Luz Sandoval

Executive Assistant
lvalenzu@email.arizona.edu 520.621.1622

Todd Shallcross

Associate, International Program Development
tshallcross@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3513

Christopher Shinohara

Associate Director, Research Operations - Defense / Security Research Institute
crshinoh@email.arizona.edu (520) 621-1379

Carrie Stusse

Manager, Administrative Services
cms1@email.arizona.edu 520.621.1105

Austin Yamada

Director, Defense and Security Research Institute
akyamada@email.arizona.edu (520) 621-0347
Corporate Engagement Services
Name Title Email Phone

Hudson J Mota de Alcantara

Director, Corporate Engagement
hjma@email.arizona.edu (602) 827-2860

Kaushik Balakrishnan

Research Development Associate
kaushikb@email.arizona.edu 520-621-2815

Stephen Fleming

Vice President, Strategic Business Initiatives
stephenfleming@email.arizona.edu 520-621-1103

James A Jindrick

Director, Corporate Engagement
jindrick@email.arizona.edu 520-621-4503
RDI External Relations
Name Title Email Phone

Andrea Brooks

Graphic Designer, Senior
andreambrooks@email.arizona.edu

Eddie Canto

Graphic Designer

Stephanie Capuano

Interim Director of Research Communications
scdoster@email.arizona.edu (520) 626-3451

Mari Cleven

Videographer, Senior
mcleven@email.arizona.edu 520-621-1948

Tracey Hummel

Web Site Designer/Developer, Senior
thummel@email.arizona.edu

Eden Jaeger

Manager, Digital Marketing
edenj@email.arizona.edu 520-621-8975

Emily Litvack

Specialist, Writer / Content
elitvack@email.arizona.edu 520-621-1948

Colleen Loomis

Graphic Designer
cloomis@email.arizona.edu

Kristy Makansi

Communications Coordinator
kbmakansi@email.arizona.edu 314-363-4546

Nancy Maneely

Copywriter/Content Manager
nmaneely@email.arizona.edu 520-621-9550

Bonnie Jean Michalski

Web Site Designer/Developer, Senior
bonjean@email.arizona.edu 520-621-3681
RDI Business Services
Name Title Email Phone

Suzy Brown

Research Administrator
sbrown76@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6929

Joanne Canalli

Associate Director, RDI Employee Services
jcanalli@email.arizona.edu 520.626.8504

Sarah Dolan

Accountant, Associate
sarahdolan@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5727

Khuyen Huynh

Research Administrator
khuynh@email.arizona.edu 520.626.8972

Andrea Lawyer

Coordinator, RDI Employee Services
lawyera@email.arizona.edu 520.626.9178

Anh Le

Director, RDI Business Services
anhle@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5749

Shana McClelland

Senior Research Administrator
shana@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5727

Christina Rocha

Research Administrator
crocha@email.arizona.edu 520.626.0180

Donna Sloan

Manager, Research Administration
dpsloan@email.arizona.edu 520.626.2286

Andrew Wang

Research Administrator
awang88@email.arizona.edu 520.626.9881
Research Ethics & Quality
Name Title Email Phone

Mariette Marsh

Senior Director
marshm@email.arizona.edu 520.626.7575
Human Subjects Protection Program
Name Title Email Phone

Christine Melton-Lopez

Director
melton1@email.arizona.edu 520-626-6830

Courtney Olson

Manager, Education & Quality
courtneyolson@email.arizona.edu Not yet assigned.

Vacant

Assistant Director

Mason Burchfield

IRB Coordinator
mlburchfi@email.arizona.edu 520.626.0433

Gina Fimbres

IRB Coordinator
gjfimbres@email.arizona.edu 520-626-0026

Jared Gonzales-Pryor

IRB Associate
jpryor@email.arizona.edu 520-626-1744

Jeff Homes

IRB Associate
jhomes@email.arizona.edu 520-626-7889

Alyssa Little

IRB Associate
alyssalittle@email.arizona.edu 520-626-5859

Joanna Schrader

IRB Associate
jschrader@email.arizona.edu 520-626-6282

Jessica Winters

IRB Coordinators
jwinters1@email.arizona.edu 520-626-0256
HIPAA Privacy Program
Name Title Email Phone

John Howard

Director
jfhoward@email.arizona.edu 520-621-1465

Bill Murphy

Security Specialist
wjmurphy@email.arizona.edu 520-621-5624

Suzie Williams

Privacy Analyst
sbhwilliams@email.arizona.edu 520-621-6297
Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee
Name Title Email Phone

Vacant

Director
520-626-1247

IACUC Associate

520-621-6103

IACUC Associate

520-626-5304

IACUC Associate

520-626-9071
Embryonic Stem Cell Research Oversight Committee
Name Title Email Phone

Mariette Marsh

Senior Director
marshm@email.arizona.edu 520-626-7575
Quality Program
Name Title Email Phone

Blanca Pernic

Quality Officer
bpernic@email.arizona.edu 520-621-5196
Research Development Services
Name Title Email Phone

RDS Main Line

ResDev@email.arizona.edu 520-621-8585

Kim J. Patten, M.S.

Director, Research Development Services
kjpatten@email.arizona.edu 520.621.5429

Robin E. Richards, Ph.D.

Senior Associate, Research Development
robinr1@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4397

Brian Adair, Ph.D.

Director, Corporate Services within RDS
brianadair@email.arizona.edu 520-621-2038

Kaushik Balakrishnan, Ph.D.

Research Development Associate
kaushikb@email.arizona.edu 520-621-2815

Carol Brodie, Ed.D.

Research Development Associate
carolbrodie@email.arizona.edu 520-621-4501

Courtney Coffey, Ph.D.

Research Development Associate
ccoffey@email.arizona.edu

Connie Gardner

Program Coordinator, Sr.
garciac1@email.arizona.edu 520-621-3512

Aimee Jo Gibney, Ph.D.

Research Development Associate
aimeegib@email.arizona.edu 520-621-9857

Yasmeen Herrick

Undergraduate Fellow
RDSFellow@email.arizona.edu 520-621-8585

Jessica L. Moon, Ph.D.

Research Development Associate
jessicamoon@email.arizona.edu 520-621-9845

Daniel Moseke, M.S.

Senior Program Manager, Research Development
dmoseke@email.arizona.edu 520-621-0520

Marie Teemant, M.A.

Graduate Fellow
RDSFellow@email.arizona.edu 520-621-8585
Research Laboratory & Safety Services
Name Title Email Phone

Keith Carsten

Assistant Director
kcarsten@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5469

Ken Kerns

Senior Director, Research - Laboratory / Safety Services
kenkerns@email.arizona.edu 5206266850

James “Jimmy” Spencer

Officer, Biological Safety
jimmy1027@email.arizona.edu (520)626-5004

Richard Wagner

Assistant Director
rwagner@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5467
Research Compliance Services
Name Title Email Phone

COI Help Line

COI@email.arizona.edu 520-626-6406

Lori Ann M. Schultz

Senior Director
lschultz@email.arizona.edu 520.626.9195

Ann DeBellis

Program Coordinator
adebellis@email.arizona.edu 520-621-6996

Kay Ellis

Director, Export Control Program
ellisk@email.arizona.edu 520.626.2437

Nikki Figueroa

Administrative Associate
nfigueroa@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5515

Taren Langford

Officer, Conflict of Interest
tmellis@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8266

Tish Liggett

Conflict of Interest Analyst
lliggett@email.arizona.edu 520.626.7879

Judith Lopez

Conflict of Interest Analyst
judithl@email.arizona.edu 520.621.3308

Laura Provencher

Export Control Analyst
lprovenc@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5865

Scott Pryor

Manager, Training
spryor@email.arizona.edu 520.621.0598

Brek Thompson

Training & Education Specialist
brekthompson@email.arizona.edu 520.626.8757

Todd Woodman

Research Data Analyst
twoodman@email.arizona.edu 520.621.2445
Societal Impacts
Name Title Email Phone

Jennifer Fields, M.A.

Research Development Associate
fieldsj@email.arizona.edu 520-626-8738
Sponsored Projects & Contracting Services
Name Title Email Phone

Mark Drury

Contract Manager
markdrury@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4589

Brandi Gaulin

Manager, Subawards
brandig@email.arizona.edu 520.626.8978

Tara Gonzales

Senior Manager, Sponsored Project Services
tgonzale@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6660

Stephen G. Harsy, PhD.

Director, Preaward Services
harsy@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4602

Meg Martin

Manager, Postaward
mzmartin@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6662

Susan Mundt

Assistant Director, Preaward Services
mundts@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6308

Yohana Orduño

Manager, Postaward
yorduno@email.arizona.edu 520.626.7551

Radha Ramachandran, Ph.D.

Contract Manager
rradhak@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6068

Rachel Rice

Manager, Preaward
rachelrice@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6113

Paul Sandoval

Director, Postaward Services
sandovar@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6309

Ashley Taylor

Manager, Postaward
adtaylor@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6434

Michael Trujillo

Manager, Preaward
mrtru210@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5557

Marcel Villalobos

Assistant Director, Postaward Services
marcel@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6311

Kim Affolder

Business Manager
kima@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6314

John Annibal

Contract Officer
annibalj@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4585

Alexis Bantel

Sponsored Projects Administrator
alexisbantel@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4297

Christopher Barnhill

Contract Officer
cjbarnhill@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6834

Sam Bello

Sponsored Projects Administrator
bello@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6150

Susanne Borchauloui

Sponsored Projects Adminsitrator
sborchaloui@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6676

Maria Moreno Castillo

Sponsored Projects Adminsitrator
mariafmoreno@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6129

Savannah Corral

Contract Coordinator
escorral@email.arizona.edu 520.626.7920

Jennifer Dukes

Manager, Postaward
porterj@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6110

Teresa Espinosa

Sponsored Projects Administrator
tespinosa@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6432

Jessica Federico

Sponsored Projects Administrator
federicoj@email.arizona.edu 520.626.5782

Mary Gerrow

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
maryg@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6433

Alyssa Gough

Sponsored Projects Administrator
alyssayg@email.arizona.edu 520.626.8662

Allison Harte

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
allisonharte@email.arizona.edu 520.262.7189 (Cell Ph.)

Tabatha Holan

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
tholan@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6442

Stephanie Howell

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
stephaniehowell@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6661

Genoa Killian

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
genoakillian@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6823

Melissa Kramer

Contract Officer
mriha@email.arizona.edu 520.626.9173

Gricelda LaTurco

Coordinator, Sponsored Projects Financial Compliance
laturco@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4610

Julia Larson

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
julialarson@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6534

Meryl Lee

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
mjleeiii@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6822

Amy McMillen

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
amymcmillen@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6212

Yaneisi Moreno

Sponsored Projects Administrator
ymoreno@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6128

Izetta Morris

Contract Analyst
izetta@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4607

Jesus Orduño

Sponsored Projects Adminsitrator
jorduno@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6423

Diane "Diana" Ouradnik

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
douradnik@email.arizona.edu 520.626.4977

Alex Pantoja

Sponsored Projects Administrator
alexpantoja07@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6127

Bruce Perlman

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
ibp@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6111

Julia Puntenney

Manager, Internal Operations
jhwood@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6155

Aileen Quezada

Sponsored Projects Administrator
aileenr@email.arizona.edu 520.626-0603

Carmen Raffensparger

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
carmenr@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6153

Ernesto Raygoza

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
eraygoza@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6532

Zach Sbragia

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
zsbragia@email.arizona.edu 520.626.3668

Rachel Sheahan

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Principal
racheldoty@email.arizona.edu 520.626.9513

Matt Sheeley

Sponsored Projects Administrator
mattsheeley@email.arizona.edu 520.626.8458

Miranda Sheeley

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
msheeley@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6441

Kirsten Sherman-Haynes

Sponsored Projects Adminsitrator, Senior
shermanh@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6418

Chuck Smart

Contract Analyst
chucksmart@email.arizona.edu 520.626.3353

Peter Stamm

Contract Analyst
pstamm@email.arizona.edu 520.626.3596

Lorraine Syswerda

Administrative Assistant
syswerda@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6000

Dorely Valdez

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
dorelyv@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6884

Nathalie Zepeda

Sponsored Projects Administrator, Senior
nathaliez@email.arizona.edu 520.626.6440